Change of Key

Dear Erin,

Thanks for the list. I very strongly remember you liking “Goodnight Moon” when you were little. Of course, I was too old for it by the time it made its way into our household, and I also remember that the strange, saturated colors were somewhat off-putting to me. Now I realize they’re meant to be dream-like, but then it just read as weird to this six-year-old. But I will definitely add these to the bookshelf for a couple years down the road.

This morning I realized that I am transitioning into my fall / winter music listening habits. When it’s hot, pretty much all I listen to is classic rock and country music. Both make me think of driving down Florida backroads to camp or the water park or college with the windows down and the music turned up, sweating plenty, but with bare feet and a fast-warming Coke to drink. One of my favorite visions of summer.

But when the year turns, I switch over almost entirely to classical, with some mid-century jazz in the evenings and Christmas music starting in November. Well, to the extent that I can control it: Charles will switch over to Christmas music in earnest any day now. But for me, the cooler weather is the season of Vivaldi and Bach and the rest of them (but especially the earlier masters). I haven’t figured out definitely why this is, although I have some ideas.

The most likely is that this is the beginning of symphony season, which I’ve enjoyed since I was, what? 4? I remember going to the Pops in the Florida Theatre, falling asleep 2/3 of the way through, and then coming out onto the chilly street afterward and being allowed to wear Geema or Grandma’s mink stole, which was lovely and warm and soft. It was January, and bitter, when I was in Vienna for three weeks and went to performance after performance: chamber music, oratorio, opera, symphony, chorale. No fur on that occasion, just the wish that I had chosen warmth over aesthetics in footwear. Fell asleep in a couple of those as well, actually.

Yesterday we got a brochure with the lineup for the local symphony, and almost everything looks good. What with that, and San Francisco’s cultural offerings right up the road, I think it’s time to do a little planning. We’ve skipped this kind of thing the last couple years, but it’s time to start up again. And in the meantime, there’s always the classical stations on the radio.

 

One thought on “Change of Key

  1. Coming in on this late, but the very thought of listening to Vivaldi in the fall makes me remember the feelings I was first exposed to his works while at college. I have only once had the same chill that came when The Four Seasons was sprung on my uneducated ear.

Leave a Reply

