First Trip Back

Dear Erin,

No, I’m not going to NYC for any reason this winter. I don’t think I could handle yet another flight across the country within two months. If I lived there, it would be a different story.

But snow! That’s crazy! Are you sure you weren’t imagining it? I’ll be there in a little over a month, and I’m not sure if I want a white Christmas. Theoretically, it sounds good, but practically … not so much. It would be a different experience, though.

I promised pictures and more details about our most recent trip, so here you go. I know family tradition is to go into a level of detail that includes even what we ate, but I’m not going to follow tradition in this instance. Suffice it to say, we ate well and probably too much, as the eating included three trips to Cracker Barrel and a full day at the Epcot Food and Wine Festival.

We first went to Orlando, where we saw Charles’s family and spent a few days with them before heading thirty minutes east for a week at Disney World.

 

NovTrip2This is Main Street at the Magic Kingdom, where they have the Christmas decorations up and the carols floating through the streets. We did this park both with and without kids last week – entirely different experiences. Over the week, we visited all four of the parks, but we were mostly there to visit friends. Two were from the UK and one lives in south Florida.

Oddly enough, we’ve seen her less recently than the two Brits, whom we visited last summer.

NovTrip1

Apparently it takes two cool guys to hold up a light post.

 

Epcot was all about food, both the cooked …

White chocolate model of Ariel's father's castle.

White chocolate model of Ariel’s father’s castle.

and the raw …

Short-term cranberry bog

Short-term cranberry bog

 

If the park wasn’t so big and didn’t take so much walking to get anywhere, I would have expected us to gain several pounds each in that one day. We also got to Animal Kingdom, where I got to see my FAVORITE:

NovTrip3

Sigh…I love tigers

Got to see one of the tigers, so I count my trip to this park a success, even though this guy refused to turn his face around so I could get a good picture.

NovTrip4After that incredibly fun, if rather tiring, week, we stopped in the Houston area for the weekend, where we had a relaxing, lower-key time with some of our best friends, whom we met in grad school. Got to meet their little one for the first time and see their new house. The amount of work they’ve done to it in the past year is amazing, and it looks fantastic. It was a great place to rest and recharge before heading back home.

NovTrip5

 

I still ended up pretty tired, especially in the evenings, so I may still be on Eastern time, which is probably a good thing for the foreseeable future.

Enjoy your cool weather; in Virginia, it should help make it a picture postcard November.

Leave a Reply

