It’s the Most Wonderful Time

Dear Erin,

Sorry this post is late, but I’ve been living the high life and haven’t had much access to a computer, especially today. By living the high life, I mean Charles and I went to see Frozen [lovely movie; I always love a good sister story!] with family, had lunch and made a last-minute Target run before heading over to the grandparents’ for supper. You know, real high adrenaline stuff.

I’m also sorry your Advent season has been hit and miss. I hope that overall it’s been more satisfying than frustrating. Partly this is because I really empathize, and partly it’s because I found a new recipe I want to try while we’re there, and if you’re burnt out on trying things because nothing’s working, it will be harder to convince you.

So, since we’ve gotten to VA, we spent a few days in Williamsburg on what one of our waitresses called a “babymoon.” I don’t have much opinion of the word itself, but it aptly described my mindset, to a certain degree. We took the scenic route from Norfolk on Thursday.

PANO_20131219_123848

We checked in to our hotel and walked down the street to start enjoying Williamsburg.

Look! I found a recreation that's all about yarn.

Look! I found a recreation that’s all about yarn.

 

It was a clear but chilly day and rather empty of other visitors. We even had lunch at one of our favorite places (a sandwich shop), could breathe without being crushed, and got our food in just a few minutes. This was a far cry from two days later, when we returned, along with half the population of eastern Virginia, it seemed.

IMG_20131219_134811 IMG_20131219_132708

I don’t know if you remember, but this was one of the places we came for our honeymoon, and it’s a favorite destination for us, still. This time we took a tour of the Christmas decorations.

IMG_20131220_121701

One of the most visually striking, to my mind

 

IMG_20131220_114537

Apples on stirrups along the top there

 

IMG_20131220_120202

This one is full of feathers

 

Tiny beer mugs; appropriate for a tavern

Tiny beer mugs; appropriate for a tavern

The wreaths and such were as lovely as usual, but unfortunately not as symbolic as I was hoping, which meant that the value of the tour really lay in what the guide could provide in terms of historical context. … Um, well yes! It is a hazard in such a situation to know too much history; why do you ask? … As I reminded Charles after the tour, the guide said she was a “history nerd,” not a “history expert.”

We took the town at our leisure and enjoyed the various programs. At one of them, Charles was asked to dance by one of the historical interpreters, so that was fun. I figured if I was asked, I would hopefully be able to quote my Jane Austen appropriately: that at the moment I was “almost past every thing but tea and quadrille” (Emma I.3). Just so you know, I did take pictures, but the light was too low, the camera too slow, and the dancing too uproarious (apparently) to catch.

My favorite was probably the theatrical program, wherein they played three scenes to demonstrate the characters of the fop, the rogue, and the villain, and I found a new play to read before too long has passed: Lethe, by David Garrick. I did quite a bit of study of late 16th and early 17th century drama, and I took a Restoration drama class, but I never got much into the 18th century in the dramatic genre (oh, let’s be honest; I never got much into the 18th century in any genre. The poetry in particular is abysmal not really to my taste). But this particular scene was hysterical, and I’d like to see how the play as a whole holds up.

We relaxed and had a good time together; ate well, slept plenty, and entirely enjoyed ourselves, so we were very glad the flights across the country were cheaper on Wednesday than the weekend, giving us an excuse to come earlier.

IMG_20131219_163404

 

Since Saturday, we’ve been spending time with family, catching up, playing games, obviously watching movies. I can’t believe tomorrow is already Christmas Eve; and then Wednesday is Christmas itself. Let’s take a break for the holiday – focus on worship and family – and then come back on Friday, shall we?

To you, Erin, and everyone else, have a wonderful time celebrating and a very merry Christmas!

IMG_20131219_163410

One thought on “It’s the Most Wonderful Time

  1. Pingback: Marshmallows and Gingerbread | crackersisters

Leave a Reply

