Presents Make Everything Better

Dear Erin,

Poor Little Man! And Munchkin looks almost as worn out as you sound. I wish I could fly across the country and help you out. But I’m afraid it’ll have to be prayers and occasional presents that wing their way toward you instead.

Do you mind if I show off the latest present I sent for your sad little boy? Maybe it’s not tummy aches making him cry; maybe he’s cold. If so, you could wrap him up in these. (And, no, I don’t really think he’s cold.)

We saw this picture before.

bluepuerpurium1Here’s the entire thing:

bluepuerperium1.1

Pattern: Puerperium (my standard for newborns, although it may be time to change things up). Yarn: Ella Rae Lace Merino DK in color “105.” (That’s some inspired naming, there.)

With the rest of the yarn, I made my standard hat:

BlueSwirl2

It took two goes because, after who-knows-how-many years of knitting, your brilliant sister still hasn’t learned to swatch with a new yarn, so the first one was too small. Swirl Hat. It’s a great pattern, as it stretches pretty amazingly. But, again, it might be getting time to change things up. I’m getting a little bored now that I’ve done it at least five times.

Well, six, since this one was knitted twice.

In fact, I have a plan for Little Mister’s next hat which is completely different. (It’s pretty cool in our house, and he’s grown out of all his hats except his Viking hat, which is awesome but itchy.)

Here’s a more artsy picture of your Little Man’s hat.

BlueSwirl1

Well, more close up anyway. Munchkin’s present is on the needles now, and close to being finished, so it will be on its way before long!

This Friday is Halloween. Little Mister is going out either as Tigger or as Calvin (with Hobbes). Pictures next week!

 

One thought on “Presents Make Everything Better

  1. Pingback: And Done. | crackersisters

Leave a Reply

