1/50th of the way there…

Dear Erin,

Your sister is delusional.

But we’ll come back to that. In the meantime, here’s a picture of Little Mister in his Halloween costume.

HappyHalloween2

Sorry it’s a little dark, but that’s appropriate for Spooky Night, right?

HappyHalloween3

Here you can see his hat a little better.

And our scary pumpkin.

Punkin2014

I’m pretty proud of how this came out, even though it took me way too long to carve him. It pretty much poured here on Halloween, which was a lovely change from the last 8 months. I took Little Mister out onto the porch during the rain, and he just looked so confused. Poor boy has very little idea what this wet stuff falling from the sky is all about. He’s going to have some adjusting to do when I eventually send him to Florida to hang out with his grandparents for a couple of weeks every summer.

Thankfully, it stopped in the evening, so we went to our church’s fall festival and saw all the fun costumes, letting our boy stay up past his bedtime. I wanted to visit our friends’ Lord of the Rings-decorated house, but we just couldn’t keep him up any longer, especially since he was dealing with new teeth. (I think he’s got fangs coming in on the top.)

I’m glad the last day of October was good because I decided to take the plunge and attempt NaNoWriMo this year. Considering that most of the time, it’s a productive day if I get one load of laundry done, I don’t know how I’m going to fit in 2,000+ words a day every day (except Sundays and Thanksgiving) for the next month. Nonetheless, my novel is never going to get done without a deadline, and not one that I set myself with no accountability.

And it’s not a perfect start: 1,090 words in so far. But then again, I have to refamiliarize myself with what’s going on in the story and where I was planning to go two years ago. We’ll see how things look by the end of the month. Charles has rashly promised me many good things once I’ve finished the first draft … possibly because he didn’t think I’d ever actually finish. I hope I can make him pay up.

2 thoughts on “1/50th of the way there…

  1. Pingback: Halloween to Thanksgiving | crackersisters

  2. Pingback: Some Weeks You’ve Got to be Tough | crackersisters

Leave a Reply

