Room for Improvement

Dear Erin,

Yes, a few of those have escaped my lips already. Right now, the two things I find myself repeating most often are, “Not in your mouth!” and “Leave it alone!” Not that he understands either of those phrases.

Or maybe he’s just playing dumb…

So, my days continue to be dominated by Little Mister-wrangling, but I promised I’d update on the shelf, so here you go:

EmptyShelfNov1

This might be the last update for the year (and what with all the holiday busyness, I don’t know that I’ll read much more anyway), so I figured I’d physically represent all the pages I’d read this time. I guess it’s not too bad; not perfect, but not too bad. Here you can see the whole shelf:

EmptyShelfNov2

As you can see, it’s worked out to a little less than half a shelf.

Anyway, despite my pitching and moaning, I think in the end, this has been a good project for me. It’s encouraged me to read real books, rather than just the internet, because then I’d have something to show for it. (I never, EVER thought I’d need encouragement to read. This had better just be a phase.) And reading real books is so much better for my mind – maybe not everyone has this problem, but I’m one of those who gets anxious if I only consume things at the surface level. I don’t always realize it, but after a week or so of basically skimming along on just Facebook, blogs, AVClub reviews, and articles, I start feeling fidgety and unsatisfied. A real book calms me down, as several friends have pointed out this year.

It’s also encouraged me to try new books, rather than just rereading things I know (nearly) by heart. Not that you can exactly tell that from this picture; four of the seven spines you can see belong to books I’ve read before. But most of the other pages don’t. Keeping track of my progress makes me want to make that progress a true move forward, not a cyclical turning back upon myself.

So I think I’m going to try it again next year, although if I record it here at all, it will only be in passing. I’ll try to beat my accomplishment from this year, and maybe within three years I’ll actually be achieving full shelves again.

One thought on “Room for Improvement

  1. Pingback: Year 2! | crackersisters

Leave a Reply

