Why I’m Fasting This Week

Dear Erin,

Little Mister’s party on Saturday was a lot of fun and nearly exactly what I wanted it to be. He and his dad might have been skeptical beforehand…

LM Skeptical

but I knew what I was doing. More details and pictures on Friday.

But today I’ve got something else on my mind. Yesterday, our church became aware of some disunity among the leaders, and some controversial decisions that had been made, and so the congregation is uncertain and in pain right now. I don’t think details are important or appropriate here, but what I do know is that God doesn’t like to see the members of His Body hurting each other, or His children hardening their hearts against one another and not practicing the grace, mercy and forgiveness He has shown each of us. We talk it and think we are doing it, until it’s hard to do. And then we are called to give grace sacrificially like Jesus does and mercy sacrificially like Jesus does and forgiveness sacrificially like Jesus does!

And we have to be humble enough to sacrifice ourselves and our pride to really love and to really hear other people, even if we’re dead sure they’re wrong. Charles and I have been through the deaths of two previous churches and that leaves lasting scars, even when God does bring good out of it. I really, really, really don’t want to go through that again.

So, because I’m a member, and because I love my church, and because I believe that God can bring guidance, supernatural healing, and reconciliation if we ask, I’m going to be asking – constantly – until an answer has come. I’ll be praying and studying the unity of God’s people in the Scriptures, and even though I hadn’t planned to fast during Lent, I’ll be fasting on Wednesdays at least, starting this week.

I don’t know what God’s plan for our church is. One thing I have learned from the two earlier churches is that the Lord is who I base my faith upon, not the imperfect and fallible church, as much as I love the church. But I know He can do miracles. And if what we need now is miraculous reconciliation and great love and forgiveness among each other, I know He can do that. And I refuse to forgo the possibility of receiving that miracle just because I didn’t ask strongly enough. I’ve never been great at perseverance, but now is a great time to work on that virtue. I want to be like the persistent widow in the parable, who won’t give the judge peace until he grants her request (Luke 18:1-8).

I won’t ask you to fast, as you’ve done plenty of that lately for other reasons, but I’d really love it if you could be praying, too.

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Fasting This Week

Leave a Reply

