A Conversation with Munckin

Dear Kristen,

So we’re back up with our normal routine on the blog!  Hopefully.  Meaning…hopefully I will post when I’m supposed to.

Which hasn’t been the case of recent.  But…well….that happens.  And so did this conversation:

(Italics are me, bold words belong to Munchkin.  Anything she says that has an exclamation point was shouted.)

  • Mommy, I know how to spit-up.
  • Spit-up?
  • Yes, spit-up. Its an exercise.
  • Spit-up?
  • Yes! MOMMY! (as if I’m not listening to her) Its an exercise!
  • Oh – SIT-up.
  • (said with dramatic flair) Mooommmmy! Sit-up is what I know how to do. Spit-up is when you’re sick. Look!

I turn slowly, cautiously, not sure which one I’m going to see. She lays down on the ground and describes what she’s doing:

  • You sit like this with your legs out. Then you go down and up. And look what else I can do!

She flips over to her stomach side and assumes a push-up position. She goes down and up.

Assuming the postion.

Assuming the postion.

  • See! I can do that exercise, too!
  • Where did you learn that?
  • I made it up.
  • You made it up? (apparently I can only repeat what she just said with a question mark added)
  • You sure? No one showed you?
  • No! I made it up. I am STRONG.

Um…

Next day. I just want to see what she says.

  • So, remember yesterday when you did a sit-up?
  • U-huh. (she’s slightly distracted by Mickey Mouse)
  • Who taught you to do that?

Nothing. Silence.

  • Who showed you how to do that?
  • Mooommmmy. I just made it up. You know that!

So…apparently we are raising an exercise Einstein.

IMG_3621

It might be more likely she saw her dad doing that last week. That’s almost like making it up, right?

Leave a Reply

