A Fancy Holiday. Or Not.

Dear Erin,

You know how last time I said I didn’t have much Christmas spirit? Well, that’s changing, albeit slowly and not by much.

I told you I made cookies last week. Well, this weekend I made Danish.
20151212_094617
Family tradition, and my favorite “Christmas” food growing up. Just the smell of cardamom and almond together makes me happy. I don’t make them often, because Charles doesn’t like them, and it makes a lot. My recipe says 75 “pieces,” but I made a half batch, and still ended up making I think six batches, with some dough left over. For the future, I just have to get Little Mister to think they’re a tradition; then I’ll have more of an excuse to make (and eat) them.

Look at the cardamom I found to use this time.
20151214_095010
They’re pods, and you open them to get the seeds. I felt very fancy while I was making them.

And we have a tree.
20151214_083611
Yes, this has basically been floating around Pinterest, so that’s where I stole the idea from. It’s certainly not fancy, but it’s also not going to fall down and break and spill water and leaves everywhere and make a huge mess and lead to Little Mister getting in masses of trouble. He has fun moving the ornaments around and trying to stick them on the wall.

We’re doing it up right around here, feelings or no.

PS. Oh, and we didn’t get snow, but there was hail yesterday. That counts, right?

7 thoughts on “A Fancy Holiday. Or Not.

  1. Somehow I never got Geema’s pastry recipe & coincidentally Spencer was asking about making them yesterday! Perhaps you could send the recipe my way?

  2. Pingback: A Nostalgic Holiday. Or Not. | crackersisters

  3. Pingback: Deck the Halls with Too-Small Sweaters | crackersisters

Leave a Reply

